Gorillaz - Demon Days (2005)

A side project doesn't usually hit gold, especially when said project is a quirky virtual collective fronted by cartoon characters. But the first, self-titled album by Gorillaz--the brainchild of illustrator Jamie Hewlett and Blur frontman Damon Albarn--actually hit platinum and turned into a surprise worldwide hit. Naturally expectations were a lot higher for Gorillaz's sophomore effort, but Demon Days actually is even better than its predecessor. With producer Dan "the Automator" Nakamura gone, Albarn, a.k.a. 2D, has paired up with DJ Danger Mouse (responsible for the infamous Grey Album that illegally mixed the Beatles and Jay-Z) to steer the musical ship, while a whole new slew of guests enlivens the proceedings. Albarn has described Demon Days as being darker, but there's a real kooky dance-party vibe coursing through the CD.

Elisabeth Vincentelli

01. Intro
02. Last living souls
03. Kids wiht guns
04. Oh green world
05. Dirty harry
06. Feel good Inc
07. El manana
08. Every planet we reach is dead
09. November has come f-mf doom
10. All alone
11. White light
12. DARE
13. Fire coming out of a monkey's head
14. Don't get lost in heaven 15. Demon days