The Qemists - Joint The Q (2009) - Rapidshare Download

Subtle as the Blitz, The Qemists revive memories of both the heady big-beat heyday of The Prodigy and Chemical Brothers and the furious speedmetal maelstrom of Anthrax, if both modes were lashed to junglist beats.

Opener “Stompbox” is sheer techno-metal overload, with sirening synths powered along by hardcore guitar riffing, while “Lost Weekend” and “On The Run” are purest amphetamine frenzy, respectively superfast speed-metal and drum’n’bass laced with vocal fragments and fizzy synth riffs. Faith No More’s Mike Patton features on the former, one of a slew of guest vocalists that includes Alabama 3’s Zoe Devlin Love, MC Navigator, Jenna G and, over the hammer-blow beats and filthy synths of “Dem Na Like Me”, Wiley.


01. Stompbox
02. Lost Weekend (ft. Mike Patton)
03. On The Run (ft. Jenna G)
04. Dem Na Like Me (ft. Wiley)
05. S.W.A.G. (Intro)
06. S.W.A.G. (ft. Zoe Devlin Love)
07. Drop Audio (ft. MC ID)
08. When Ur Lonely
09. Soundface (ft. Beardyman)
10. Got One Life (ft. Navigator)
11. The Perfect Pitch


Ed Solo & Skool Of Thought - Random Acts Of Kindness (2007)

'Random Acts Of Kindness' encompasses all of the sounds and styles that have influenced the Ed Solo & Skool of Thought over the years; from soul, funk and reggae to drum n bass, hip-hop and breaks. Effervescent, opener 'Love Your Life' isn't just for the ska jump up crowd, it's great song based fare and an early indicator of how the album delivers to more than just the dancefloor.

Next up is King Tubby sampling soundbwoy styling’s of Babylon Breaks. Reggae influences rear their head again on slowburning skankers 'Life Gets Better' and 'Raspberry Dub', while the D&B Remix of 'Feel The Music' does exactly what it says on the tin.

Dipping into the UK underground with a bassline to loosen your fillings on 'Sludge', the guys show they have an eye for the retro too with their reworking of Incognito's classic 'Always There'. Throw in piano-laced hip hop ('Sometimes') and beeps and bleeps aplenty ('Tug Nut') and you’ve got an album, which could never be described as samey.

Ed Solo & Skool Of Thought - Random Acts Of Kindness - Track List:

01. Love Your Life
02. Babylon Breaks
03. We Play the Music
04. Believe in the Funk
05. Got It Like That
06. Feel the Music [Re-Rub]
07. Sludge
08. Sometimes
09. Raspberry Dub
10. Life Get’s Better
11. When I Was a Yout
12. Tug Nut
13. Always There
14. Music Is Music
15. We Play the Music [Acoustic Version]
16. Disclaimer


Mr Scruff - Ninja Tuna (2008) Rapidshare Download

A host of collaborators joins DJ Andy Carthy (better known as Mr. Scruff) for 'Ninja Tuna', the fourth album in his canon. With a pinch of his customary homespun sense of humour and love of all things soulful and jazzy, Carthy blends his tunes across a range of soundworlds, encompassing funk and light electronica. Guests include the likes of British hip-hoplegend Roots Manuva, Alice Russell and Will Holland of the Quantic Soul Orchestra. 'Ninja Tuna' is the first record to be released on a collaborative label of the same name that sees Mr. Scruff and the Ninja Tune label working together closer than ever.

01. Test The Sound
02. Music Takes Me Up feat. Alice Russell
03. Donkey Ride feat. Quantic
04. Hairy Bumpercress
05. Whiplash
06. Nice Up The Function feat. Roots Manuva
07. Bang The Floor feat. Danny Breaks
08. Get On Down
09. Hold On feat. Andreya Triana
10. Give Up To Get
11. Kalimba
12. This Way feat. Pete Simpson
13. Stockport Carnival


Thievery Corporation - Radio Retaliation (2008)

Radio Retaliation is a record of righteous fury (the targets are political, if that even needs to be said) and one that makes their previous efforts sound like Discreet Music in comparison. Thievery amps up their beats, quickens the pace, and unleashes a phalanx of vocal features to attack the D.C.-based Corporation's crosstown rivals on Capitol Hill and at 1600 Pennsylvania
Ave. (Granted, this is still a revolution mostly in the head.) The mélange of worldbeat influences finds all the usual traces (Jamaica, India, Brazil, Nigeria, Arabia), but virtually all of the locales are charted by natives (Sleepy Wonder, Anoushka Shankar, Seu Jorge, Femi Kuti). On the title track, narcoleptic chatter Sleepy Wonder details his list of grievances, speaking for the entire corporation: "50,000 watts of Thievery hit them like poison darts/And watch the whole system what them build up fall apart." The two most important features are Femi Kuti's and Seu Jorge's; first, Kuti uses the track "Vampires" to call out African genocide throughout history (from Kinshasa to Darfur to Lagos to Malabo, Guinea), then Jorge comes next with the yin to emi's yang, a beatific ode to peace titled "Hare Krsna." Thievery producers Rob GarzaEric Hilton
haven't quite revolutionized their beat-making or production from the past decade, but they sound energized by the political and social events of the 2000s. Despite the politics, there are still a few more of the ethereal masterpieces Thievery Corporation have made a hallmark in the past, including the sublime "Beautiful Drug" (featuring Slovakian singer Jana Andevska) and "Mandala," a guest feature for Anoushka Shankar that's particularly refreshing as an alternative to the usual Indian atmosphere on downbeat records (sampled, not played).


01. Sound The Alarm feat. Sleepy Wonder
02. Mandala feat. Anoushka Shankar
03. Radio Retaliation feat. Sleepy Wonder
04. Vampires feat. Femi Kuti
05. Hare Krsna feat. Seu Jorge
06. El Pueblo Unido feat. Verny Varela
07. The Forgotten People
08. 33 Degree feat. Zee
09. Beautiful Drug feat. Jana Andevska
10. La Femme Parallel feat. LouLou
11. Retalation Suite
12. The Numbers Game feat. Chuck Brown
13. The Shining Path
14. Blasting Through The City feat. Notch
15. Sweet Tides feat. LouLou



From the opening lines of Q-Tip’s newest classic, The Renaissance, it’s obvious that the Queens rapper knows just how important he is to the music and culture that is hip-hop. “And it’s up to me to bring back the hope, feeling in the music that you could quote” raps Q-Tip about the way things are now and how that old, soulful, and rich approach has been lost in the genre. Maybe it’s the fact that the group he co-founded, A Tribe Called Quest, was so impeccably compelling and thrilling, or maybe it’s the evident fact that as a proper MC, Kamal Fareed is one of the best of all time but whatever it is, The Renaissance is arguably, the best hip-hop album of the year.


1. Johnny Is Dead
2. Won’t Trade
3. Gettin’ Up
4. Official
5. You
6. We Fight / Love (w/ Raphael Saadiq)
7. Manwomanboogie (w/ Amanda Diva)
8. Move
9. Dance On Glass
10. Life Is Better (w/ Norah Jones)
11. Believe (w/ D’Angelo)
12. Shaka